Your Elected Officials

The elected and appointed officials who serve the City of Sheridan are a dedicated group committed to providing exceptional citizen service in a regulated, ethical environment.  

The Mayor and Council Members are elected to four-year terms and Planning Commissioners are appointed to four-year terms by the City Council.  If a replacement is needed because an official does not finish the term of office, the City Council appoints a replacement for that term or until the next general election, whichever comes first. The Mayor, with City Council's consent, appoints a Planning Commissioner replacement.

Council Members are paid a nominal sum of $75.00 per year for their work.  Most return the payment to the City.  Planning Commissioners are not reimbursed for their time and effort.  All attend classes designed to increase their knowledge and their skills to be effective legislators for their City.