City Handbook

There are almost 1500 units of local government in Oregon.  The Oregon Blue Book lists 36 counties, 241 cities, 197 school districts, 20 education service districts, almost 1,000 special service districts of which there are 28 kinds and 14 regional governments. 

Local government forms and functions have evolved through decisions of the state legislature, the people of the state as a whole, and the people and officials of each local government. 

The booklet titled Local Government: The Basics is a short summary of 10 essential items that city officials need to know.

This Handbook discusses the various forms of government and discusses city government in detail.

Local Government: The Basics Published by the League of Oregon Cities, March 2018, 22 pages.